Roger Zahab

Roger Zahab instigates complex relations through his activities as composer, violinist, conductor, teacher and writer.

His work has been performed throughout North and South America, Europe and Asia by such soloists and ensembles as cellists David Russell and Lawrence Stomberg, kayagum artist Heesun Kim, violinist Nathalie Shaw, flutist Lindsey Goodman, pianists Robert Frankenberry, Eric Moe and Bennett Lerner, guitarists John Muratore and James Marron, and The Furious Band, California EAR Unit, IonSound Project and Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble.

Daedalus New Music Group
Daedalus String Quartet:
Philip Baldwin, Roger Zahab, Jerry Miskell, James Hinkley

A selection of chamber music has been released: entelechron: time + memory. Performed by entelechron: with the composer as violinist, cellist David Russell and pianists Robert Frankenberry and Eric Moe, it is available from cdbaby as well as iTunes, Amazon and Spotify. Other recordings include I still dream and Jump for steel drums performed by Josh Quillen (Steel Drums, available from Bandcamp), deceived by starlight performed by vibraphonist Dale Speicher (Seattle Percussion Collective), levitation of pianos during a waltz played by pianist Eric Moe (Albany Records), Earth's Jig and Silence Orchids played by pianist Bennett Lerner (Albany Records) and Verging Lightfall played by the composer on violin and Eric Moe, piano (Koch International Classics). These recordings and others are available from Amazon and iTunes. Recent works include vioentelechron - for violin and orchestra in flexible instrumentation, at the piano - in honor of favorite pianists, Akron Chronogram for large orchestra with video by Laura Ruth Bidwell commissioned by the Akron Symphony Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins, music director, to celebrate its 60th anniversary, A Christmas Carol - a chamber music version of Charles Dickens' classic, Happy Hour! - a flashmob opera commission by Opera Theater of Pittsburgh, and Evening on 57th Street for violin and string orchestra.

As a violinist, Zahab has given more than a hundred first performances and championed music by a wide range of composers from John Cage to Eric Moe, Kwabena Nketia and Tison Street to Judith Weir and Christian Wolff. Recordings as violinist and composer are available on the Truemedia, Albany and Koch International Classics labels. His version of John Cage's Thirteen Harmonies for violin and keyboard instrument is published by C.F. Peters Corporation.

His conducting repertoire encompasses the history of ensemble music from Andrea Gabrielli up to the present.

Current faculty positions include:
University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania: Senior Lecturer and Director of the University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Music on the Edge Chamber Orchestra
Vermont College of Fine Arts: Founding core faculty member of the MFA in Music Composition.

View Roger Zahab's resume in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.